Sigil vs DocuSign

A DocuSign alternative without seat licences

DocuSign is the name everyone knows, and its plans are priced per user with a yearly cap on envelopes. Sigil charges one account one price for a number of documents a month, includes the API and MCP server from the Pro plan, and lets your signers sign on your own domain. Here is how the two line up for a small team.

At a glance

SigilDocuSign
How you payPer account, monthly or yearly (two months free)Per user, billed yearly (Personal is a single user)
Free planYes, 3 documents a month, 1 signer per pactNone; a 30-day trial
Cheapest paid planStarter, $11.99 a month: 25 documents / monthPersonal, $11 a month: 5 envelopes a month
Documents on the mid planPro, $18.99: 100 documents / monthStandard, $30 per user: 100 envelopes per user a year
APIIncluded from Pro ($18.99 a month)Business Pro ($45 per user) and developer plans
MCP serverYes, included from ProNo
Your own signing domainIncluded from Pro; more as add-onsBranding on Standard and up; not your own domain
Several signers, in orderYes, on paid plansYes
TemplatesUnlimited on paid plansYes, shared templates on Standard and up
Certificate of completionYes, the sigil, on every pactYes
Mobile appsWeb; signer pages work on any phoneiOS and Android apps
Team accountsNot yet: one login per accountUp to 50 users with admin roles; more on Enhanced

What you would pay

The cheapest plan on each side that covers the month, on annual billing where DocuSign prices that way. Sigil has one login per account, so a team shares one account.

A typical monthSigilDocuSign
One person, 10 documents a month $11.99 / month
Starter: 25 documents / month
from $11 / month
Personal: 5 envelopes a month; 5 more pay-as-you-go at a rate the page does not state
One person, 40 documents a month $18.99 / month
Pro: 100 documents / month
from $11 / month
Personal: 5 envelopes a month; 35 more pay-as-you-go at a rate the page does not state
Three people, 60 documents a month $18.99 / month
Pro: 100 documents / month; one account, shared
from $90 / month
Standard: 3 users; 100 envelopes per user a year (about 8 a month); 10 a month on monthly billing; 36 more pay-as-you-go at a rate the page does not state
Ten people, 300 documents a month $49.99 / month
Business: 500 documents / month; one account, shared
from $300 / month
Standard: 10 users; 100 envelopes per user a year (about 8 a month); 10 a month on monthly billing; 220 more pay-as-you-go at a rate the page does not state

DocuSign's plans: Personal, $11 a month, one user (annual), 5 envelopes a month; Standard, $30 per user a month (annual), 100 envelopes per user a year (about 8 a month); 10 a month on monthly billing; Business Pro, $45 per user a month (annual), 100 envelopes per user a year (about 8 a month). Add-ons, taxes and API plans sold separately are not included.

Where DocuSign is the better choice

  • Identity verification, SMS delivery, notarisation and payment collection, as paid add-ons.
  • Bulk send, conditional fields, and 1,000+ integrations on Business Pro, Salesforce and NetSuite on Enhanced.
  • Team administration: up to 50 users with roles and shared templates, single sign-on on Enhanced.
  • Native iOS and Android apps for sending and signing.
  • Compliance paperwork for regulated industries: SOC 2, HIPAA and 21 CFR Part 11 configurations.
  • Signers recognise the name, which can matter for a first contact.

Where Sigil is simpler

  • One price per account, not per user: Pro is $18.99 a month for 100 documents, however many people share the login.
  • The API and the MCP server are included from Pro; DocuSign's API starts on Business Pro at $45 per user.
  • Documents are counted a month, not a year: Pro's 100 a month against Standard's 100 per user a year.
  • Signer pages on your own domain, with your name and logo, on Pro and up.
  • No drag-and-drop editor needed: type a glyph where the signature goes and the document you already have is the template.
  • No yearly commitment and no sales call: monthly or yearly billing, cancel from the billing page.

Switching from DocuSign

A DocuSign envelope is a Sigil pact, and a DocuSign tag is a glyph. Templates do not import: upload the same PDF or Word file, type the glyphs where the fields were (or place them with the field editor on a paid plan), and it is a template again. Documents already signed in DocuSign stay in DocuSign; download the copies you want to keep before closing the account.

How Sigil works has every glyph; the quickstart sends a first pact from code.

Questions

Yes. Both record the signer's consent to electronic records under ESIGN and UETA, who signed, when and from where, and attach a certificate of completion with hashes of the document. Sigil calls that certificate the sigil.

Not directly: there is no import for DocuSign's template format. Upload the original document, type the glyphs where the fields were, and save it as a template. It takes a minute per template.

No, on either service. Sigil signers get a private link by email, read the document and sign in the browser; nothing to install and nothing to sign up for.

Sigil sells document packs that never expire ($0.60 to $1 a document) and uses them after the month's allowance; or move up a plan. DocuSign bills envelopes over the allowance pay-as-you-go.

DocuSign is a trademark of DocuSign, Inc., which is not affiliated with Sigil. Its prices were read from its pricing page on 22 October 2026 and may have changed since; Sigil's come from its catalog as you read this. Other comparisons: PandaDoc Dropbox Sign SignNow SignWell